Jobs Not Jails

Together, we are building the infrastructure to engage thousands of people in a campaign to stop $2 billion of prison construction, and re-direct those funds into creating good jobs for people in low-income, high-crime neighborhoods.

Raise the Felony Larceny Threshold!

Feb 29, 2016 | by Rachel Corey

A bill to update the Felony Larceny Threshold has been passed out of committee and is now in the Senate Ways and Means Committee. Let’s get this bill passed by contacting the legislators in charge to let them know that we need this change!

Right now Massachusetts has one of the lowest felony thresholds for larceny in the country. The law currently states that larceny in the amount of $250 or more is a felony – a number that was chosen in 1987. A felony is a much more serious charge, carrying a heavy stigma, creating barriers to employment, and increasing reliance on public assistance. This bill, S. 2132, would raise the threshold to $1500 – an increase that would place MA residents back on an even playing field with all of our New England neighbors.

Review these documents for more information and to find the contact information for the Senate Ways and Means legislators.

Then, contact the members of the Senate Ways and Means committee to ask them to pass S. 2132!

Use the documents here to learn why this change is so important, and let these legislators know how you feel. This is especially important if you are a constituent, so find out if your legislator is on this committee here.


Ask the Senators to communicate their support for an increase in the Felony Larceny Threshold!


Senate Ways and Means Members

Karen E. Spilka (D), Chair: (617) 722-1640 | Karen.Spilka@masenate,gov

Sal N. DiDomenico (D), Vice Chair: (617) 722-1650 |

Patricia D. Jehlen (D), Assistant Vice Chair: (617) 722-1578 |

William N. Brownsberger (D): (617) 722-1280 |

Kenneth J. Donnelly (D): (617) 722-1432 |

Benjamin B. Downing (D): (617) 722-1625 |

Thomas M. McGee (D): (617) 722-1350 |

Michael F. Rush (D): (617) 722-1071 |

Kathleen O’Connor Ives (D): (617) 722-1604 |

Viriato M. deMacedo (R), Ranking Minority: (617) 722-1330 |

Donald F. Humason, Jr. (R): (617) 722-1415 |

Sonia Chang-Diaz (D): (617) 722-1673 |

Eileen M. Donoghue (D): (617) 722-1630 |

John F. Keenan (D): (617) 722-1494 |

Michael O. Moore (D): (617) 722-1485 |